Joined Second Division

31st December 1968

The club joined Second Division of the Rhodesia National Football League while Matabeleland High City stayed behind and is still an affiliate of the club in a broad sports organization which has several sporting disciplines.

Promoted to First Division

31st December 1969

The team was promoted to Division One after winning the Second Division League.

National League

31st December 1970

National League


31st December 1971


Club won Division Two League

31st December 1972

Club won Division Two League and reached semi-finals of the Chibuku Trophy

Beat Mhangura in Chibuku Final

31st December 1973

The team won its biggest Trophy in 47 years by beating Mhangura 3-0 in the Chibuku final. During same year the club won South Zone League and were runners-up in the Rhodesian Breweries National League.

South Zone League, Rhodesian Breweries, Chibuku Trophy

31st December 1974

The club won the South Zone league title as well as the Rhodesian Breweries national title, Chibuku Trophy and Castle Cup runners-up

Regional Title and Kaizer Chiefs

31st December 1975

The club won the regional title and was second in the national championship sponsored by Rhodesian Breweries. Among season’s highlights was playing Kaizer Chiefs with Majuta Mpofu coming close to deal with Brazilian glamour club Santos.

Mayors Trophy

31st December 1976

The club was runners-up in the league, runner-up in the Chibuku Trophy won the Mayor’s Trophy

Division One Champions

31st December 1977

The club won the South Zone Division One Soccer League

Challenge Cup and Pelandaba Trophy

31st December 1978

The club won the Division One Challenge Cup and Pelandaba Trophy

Heroes Cup, Chibuku Trophy

31st December 1980

Won the Chibuku Trophy, the Heroes Cup

Chibuku Trophy

31st December 1984

The club won the Chibuku Trophy

BAT Rosebowl

31st December 1985

The club was runner-up in the league, won the BAT Rosebowl final. Chibuku Trophy runner-up

A Year of Glory

31st December 1986

A year of glory, the club won Chibuku Cup, Rothams Shield, Africa Day Cup, Heroes Day Cup and the Castle Cup, Independence Cup

Africa Day Cup

31st December 1987

Africa Day Cup winners

Another Clean Sweep

31st December 1988

ZIFA Castle Cup, Rothams Shield, Independence and Heroes Cup winners, Chibuku Trophy runners-up

Heroes Cup

31st December 1989

Heroes Cup winners

ZIFA Cup and the League

31st December 1990

Won the ZIFA Cup and the League title

ZIFA Cup and African Champion of Champions

31st December 1991

ZIFA Cup winners, Natbrew runner-up and reached second round of the African Champion of Champions

Cup Winners

31st December 1992

Africa Day Cup winners, Natbrew Charity Cup winners, Independence Cup runner-up

League Title and John Madzima Cup

31st December 1993

The club won the Blue Ribbon League title as well as the John Madzima Cup

League, Trophy and Durban

31st December 1994

The club won the BP league Cup, Future Discount Centre Trophy (Botswana), Durban Four Team Challenge tournament

Econet Buddie Cup and All

31st December 1999

The club won the league, Cosmos Cellular, Bulawayo Derby Helpage, Induna Foods Cup, Econet Buddie Cup

League and Millenium Challenge

31st December 2000

Won the league, the Independence and Dairibord, Army Commander’s Millenium Challenge tournaments.

League, Independence and ZIFA

31st December 2001

Won League title, Independence and ZIFA Cup

Independence Cup and League

31st December 2002

Won League title and Independence Cup

Independence Cup

31st December 2003

Won the Independence Cup, League runner-up

Buddie Charity Shield winners

31st December 2004

League runner-up, ZIFA Cup runners-up, Buddie Charity Shield winners, CAPS-Highlanders Bradford (UK) Challenge winners, OK Grand Challenge runners-up.

League Title and African Safari

31st December 2006

Won league and participated in Africa Safari

CBZ Cup Finalist

31st December 2007

Runner-up league and finalist in CBZ Cup.

African Safari

31st December 2008

Won Buffaloes/Nampula – loss El Merrickh

Mbada Diamond Cup

31st December 2014

Mbada Diamond Cup Winners

Netone Cup winners

31st December 2015

Netone Cup winners

ZNA Charity Shield winners

31st December 2016

Zimbabwe National Army Shield winners

The club has successfully produced players of international standards who include: Bruce Grobbelaar (Liverpool F.C), Peter Ndlovu (Coventry, Birmingham City, Sheffield United, Mamelodi Sundowns), Adam Ndlovu, Madinda Ndlovu, Mercedes Sibanda, Willard Khumalo, Tito Paketh, Alexander Maseko, Cleopas Dlodlo, Methembe Ndlovu, Tapuwa Kapini, Rahman Gumbo, Joel Luphahla, Benjamin Nkonjera, Benjani Mwaruwari, Zenzo Moyo, Noel Kaseke, Ralph Matema (Orlando Pirates), Honour Gombami (Circle Brugge), Obidiah Tarumbwa (Circle Brugge), Mkhokheli Dube, some of whom would be inducted in the club’s Hall of Fame.