Nomination Court on eligibility of members to vote on Sunday

The Highlanders Football Club Nomination Court has through the retaining officer Cosmos Sikosana clarified on members eligibility to vote in the Executive Committee Members election set for Sunday the 28th of March.

On Sunday members will vote for three Executive Committee Members for the positions of Chairman, Secretary and Committee Member.

Kenneth Mhlophe and Johnfat Sibanda will face off for the Chairman’s post, while Israel Moyo and Morgen Dube are eyeing Executive Secretary’s post.

The Committee Member’s post will be contested for, by Bhekumuzi Sibanda and Mgcini Mafu.

Below is the statement by Sikosana;

26 March 2021

Nomination Court Statement with regards to Highlanders F.C election

It has come to the attention of the Nomination Court that there is an influx of people visiting the club’s offices to renew membership.


It should be noted that the members who will qualify to vote on Sunday the 28th March 2021 are those that fulfil the following constitutional requirements;


  1. a) Article 10.4; “Only those members who will have held valid membership cards for at least 12 months immediately before ballot shall be eligible to attend and vote at all general meetings”. In this regard the cut-off date for the purpose of the election is 28 March 2020.


Meaning those who qualify to vote should have become members on or before 28 March 2020 NOT after that date.

  1. b) Article 5.7; “A subscribing member who fails to pay his annual subscription by 31st January of each year shall automatically lose his/her membership”.


In this regard ONLY members whose membership did not lapse and was continuous will qualify to vote.